School

Assemblies

Assemblies by Students

Thursday is set aside for student assemblies.

All Year Groups have an opportunity to research, plan and deliver assemblies according to their choice. Not only does this help to develop self-confidence & public speaking skills, it also aids in personal development of pupils and helps to broaden their awareness of current affairs and the world around them.

Pupils take pride in putting their points of view forward and overall these assemblies have been hugely successful in promoting a positive culture across the whole school.

After a round is completed, students vote for the best assembly and a prize is awarded to the winners.

Term 2

Year Group
Date Topic
11
Thur 7th Nov Renishaw Visit
10
Thur 14th Nov Renishaw Visit (interactive assembly)
9
Thur 21st Nov SkillZone Visit
8
Thur 28th Nov SkillZone
7
Thur 5th Dec Bramble Care Home Visit

Term 1

Year Group
Date Topic
11
Thur 12th Sep Teamwork Importance
10
Thur 19th Sep Essence of Time
9
Thur 26th Sep Judging others
8
Thur 3rd Oct Eating Disorders
7
Thur 10th Oct Anger Management

Year 11s were voted best assembly for Term 1 and were treated to a dessert treat @ Kaspa's on Friday 18th October 2019.

Congratulations!


Assemblies by Staff

Assemblies Planned for 2019/2020

Term 2

Event/Topic Assembly Date Assembly By Notes Cross Crricular Links
Guy Fawkes Night
Tue 5th Nov
Tue 5th Nov AP

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guy_Fawkes_Night

Assembly Notes

Video

History
Armistice Day
Mon 11th Nov
Mon 11th Nov HT https://www.britishlegion.org.uk/get-involved/remembrance/remembrance-events/remembrance-sunday History/BV
Anti-Bullying Week
11th–17th Nov
Tue 12th Nov HT

https://www.anti-bullyingalliance.org.uk/anti-bullying-week/anti-bullying-week-2019-change-starts-us

Assembly Notes

Citizenship
Road Safety Week
18th–24th Nov
Mon 18th Nov SA http://www.roadsafetyweek.org.uk/action-pack PSHE
International Day For The Elimination Of Violence Against Women
Mon 25th Nov
Mon 25th Nov HT https://www.un.org/en/events/endviolenceday/ Islamiat/BV
International Day Of Persons With Disabilities
Tue 3rd Dec
Mon 2nd Dec HT https://www.un.org/en/events/disabilitiesday/ Citizenship/Islamiat
Christmas Assembly Wed
25th Dec
tbc tbc https://www.churchofengland.org/prayer-and-worship/worship-texts-and-resources/common-worship/churchs-year/times-and-seasons/christmas RE/BV

Term 1

Event/Topic Assembly Date Assembly By Notes Cross-curricular Links
MIGRAINE AWARENESS WEEK
1st – 7th Sept
Friday 6th Sept HT https://www.migrainetrust.org/get-involved/raise-awareness/migraine-awareness-week/
PSHE
ROALD DAHL DAY
Fri 13th Sept
Wed 11th Sept AP https://www.roalddahl.com/roald-dahl-day
Literacy
FIRE DOOR SAFETY WEEK
23rd - 29th Sept
Fri 27th Sept DH

https://www.firedoorsafetyweek.co.uk/

Notes

Citizenship/PSHE
RECYCLE WEEK
23rd – 29th Sept
Mon 23th Sept SA http://www.wrap.org.uk/content/recycle-week-2019 Citizenship/PSHE
ROSH HASHANAH
29th Sept
Mon 30th Sept HT Rosh Hashanah RE/BV
INTERNATIONAL DAY OF OLDER PERSONS
1st Oct
Wed 3rd Oct HT https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Day_of_Older_Persons
Citizenship/Islamiat
MODERN SLAVERY Wed 9th Oct GASP http://secondary.al-ashraf.org.uk/assemblies/modern-slavery-assembly.pdf Citizenship
CHARITY WEEK
21st - 25th Oct
Fri 11th Oct HT https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KcZ5ALEmfJg Citizenship/Islamiat
NATIONAL BAKING WEEK
14th – 20th Oct
Tues 15th Oct DH

https://www.nationalbakingweek.co.uk/

Notes

Home Economics
DIWALI
27th Oct
Thur 24th Oct HT https://www.bbc.co.uk/newsround/15451833 RE/BV

© 2019 Al-Ashraf Secondary School for Girls | Sinope Street, Gloucester, GL1 4AW, (01452) 300465